Latest news
Architecture Art Design Trade fairs Books Awards Various News archive



Breaking Ground. Architecture by Women


Although projects designed by women often go unnoticed, “Breaking Ground” demonstrates that this is not because the architecture is not exemplary. This book includes more than 200 buildings, some of them iconic, designed by more than 150 female architects; a timely document of the extraordinary contribution made by the women of this profession.

Featured are pioneers such as Julia Morgan, who designed in Los Angeles and was the first woman to be accepted into the architecture programme of the École des beaux-arts of Paris in 1902; Jane Drew, who joined the Architectural Association of London in 1934 and become one of the most important modernists of her era; and Marion Mahony Griffin, one of the earliest graduates in architecture as well as a partner of Frank Lloyd Wright, one who exerted immeasurable influence on him.

It also includes the Japanese architect Itsuko Hasegawa, who won the inaugural Architecture prize of the Royal Academy; the Mexican architect Frida Escobedo, the youngest person ever to be chosen to design the Serpentine Pavilion; Kazuyo Sejima, one of the three women, together with Zaha Hadid and Carme Pigem, to have won the Pritzker Prize, and the Spanish architect Carme Pinós, who became the second woman chosen to design the annual MPavilion, Australia’s most important architectural commission.

The projects (from skyscrapers, museums, libraries, cultural spaces and universities to apartment blocks, hotels and private homes) are organised alphabetically by architect. Each structure is represented by a single captivating image. The result is a beautiful visual manifesto.

Published in English only


Share |


Thumb Thumb Thumb Thumb
Thumb Thumb Thumb Thumb