Latest news
Architecture Art Design Trade fairs Books Awards Various News archive



Winners of the Cosentino Design Challenge 2015


The Cosentino Group has announced the winners of the 9th edition of the Cosentino Design Challenge, a competition open to students of design, architecture, interior architecture and other similar areas of knowledge. The objective of this award is to foster student talent by promoting research into the configuration of spaces, materials and construction systems using materials from the Cosentino Group.

The current edition has received a total of 278 entries: 135 in the architecture category and 143 in the design category. The entered projects come from fifteen prestigious international institutions, schools or universities: University of Technology Sydney (Australia), Istituto Europeo di Design (Italy), American Society of Interior Designers (United States), Escola Técnica Superior d’Arquitectura de Lisboa (Portugal), ESAM Design (France), Lasalle College of the Arts (Singapore), artediez School of Madrid, Architecture School of Complutense University of Madrid, Seville Architecture School, Almería Art School, Higher School of Design of Alicante, Architecture School of Zaragoza University, Architecture School of Barcelona’s Polytechnic University, Architecture School of the Polytechnic University of Valencia and the School of Architecture of Navarre University.

In the category of architecture, the purpose of which was to design an architectural proposal based on the topic of ‘‘Coexistence thresholds - Playground: fun with surfaces’’, the winning projects were: “Lightside” by Alejandro Mosquera (Higher Technical School of Architecture of A Coruña), “Ghost Playtown” by Manuel Ruiz (Higher Technical School of Architecture of Granada) and “Materia Viva” (Living Matter) by Cecilia López (Higher Technical School of Architecture of Madrid). Three second prizes were also awarded: “Fill The Gap, Feel The Gap” by Agustín Martínez (Higher Technical School of Architecture of Madrid), “Cosentino Falls” by Alejandra Sánchez (Higher Technical School of Architecture of Madrid) and “Piazza Cosentino” by Ángela Salvador and María López (Higher Technical School of Architecture of Madrid).

In the category of design, the purpose of which was to reflect on “Cosentino and celebration”, considering the relationship between celebration, space, spectator and materials from the Cosentino Group, the judging panel recognised: “Multicelebrations Space” by Jonathan Balderrama (UDABOL Universidad de Aquino, Bolivia), “Jelly Beans” by Jorge Luis Ríos (artediez School of Madrid) and “Kanyon” by Léa Le Boucher, Maëva Jalu, Ysaline Daguy, Marie Boutiller, Anaïs Cipriano and Julie Saunier (ESAM Design Paris). Second prizes in the design category went to: “Loyalty” by Iván Blazquez (artediez School of Madrid), “Grantam” by Berta Resina, Patricia Uriszar and Marta Fernández (artediez School of Madrid) and “CUC” by Rubén Sabater (Higher School of Design of Alicante).

On this occasion, the jury comprised representatives of schools or universities that have collaborated in the competition, together with the architect and designer Daniel Germani and Santiago Alfonso Rodríguez, Director of Communication and Marketing of the Cosentino Group.


Crtra. A334 Baza-Huércal Overa, km. 59 – 04850, Cantoria, Almería (Spain)

T/ +34 950 444 175

Share |


Thumb Thumb Thumb Thumb
Thumb Thumb Thumb Thumb
Thumb Thumb Thumb Thumb