All agenda
EventsExhibitionsTrade fairsCompetitionsCourses



Jump the Gap 2017

“Jump the Gap”, the international contest for bathroom spaces design that offers an international platform for architecture and design students from around the world, is back.

Coinciding with the hundredth anniversary of Roca in 2017, the next edition involves some interesting changes, such as the appointment of German architect Patrik Schumacher, head of Zaha Hadid Architects, as chairman of the jury.

Another development is an increase in the cash prize, which now stands at 10,000€ for each of the categories (professional and student), as well as the addition of a special sustainability award, the We Are Water Foundation, which has risen to 6,000€.

The jury comprises prestigious professionals from different countries around the world: Benedetta Tagliabue (Italy), director of EMBT Miralles Tagliabue and chair of the second edition of jumpthegap; Ma Yansong (China), winner of the 2014 “Young Global Leaders” (YGL) Award and chairman of the sixth edition of jumpthegap; Vladimir Pirojkov (Russia), President of the ASRAROSSA Industrial Design and Innovation Centre; Anjali Srinivasan (India), creative director of ChoChoMa studios and winner of the 2016 Swarovski Designer of the Future Award; Valentin Vodev (Bulgaria), designer and founder of the company VELLO; Josep Congost (Spain), head of the Roca Design Center; and Isabel Roig (Spain), Managing Director of the BCD (Barcelona Centre of Design) and former president of BEDA (the Bureau of European Design Associations).

For the We Are Water Foundation award, the members of the jury are: Xavier Torras (Spain), head of the We Are Water Foundation; Henk Ovink (The Netherlands), special envoy for International Water Affairs of The Netherlands; and Sophie Thomas (United Kingdom), council member of WRAP United Kingdom.

Applications are open until March 15 2017, and can be submitted at


Share |